Stages of Endometriosis: What You Need To Know

Stages of Endometriosis: What You Need To Know

Stages of Endometriosis

For those of you that are not aware, there are 4 stages of Endometriosis. It is classified into one of four stages depending on location, size, degree to which it has spread, and depth of endometriosis implants; presence and severity of adhesions or bands of scar-like tissue that attaches to organs outside of the uterus; and the presence and size of endometrial tissue growths or cysts on the ovaries.

Stages of Endometriosis: What You Need To Know

Stage I — minimal endometriosis is characterized by isolated implants and no significant adhesions

Stage II — mild endometriosis by superficial implants less than 5 cm in aggregate without significant adhesions.

Stage III — moderate endometriosis and IV — severe endometriosis consists of multiple implants and scarring around the tubes and ovaries or on multiple implants, including large ovarian endometriomas with thick adhesions.

The only way to tell what stage you have is by having a Laparoscopy, which is the surgical procedure done to diagnose Endometriosis. The majority of women suffering from this are normally in the first two categories.

Oftentimes, your physician will conduct one of these imaging tests in order to ensure that a patient is in need of surgery: U/S or Sonogram and/or MRI. With doing a U/S, the doctor may not see anything.

Before I had my first surgery, I had a U/S done in the hospital and was told that I had a large cyst and that I should have surgery to remove it. Turns out, it wasn’t a cyst but Endometriosis. This is why it’s very important to speak with your provider that way you both can determine the best route to take.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *